Looking for MX clue at cable.comcast.net

Elliot Finley efinley.lists at gmail.com
Fri Aug 3 21:19:14 UTC 2012

Correction:  It's cable.comcast.com (not .net) and it turns out that
that is the domain used by comcast employees not customers.  our mail
gets delivered to comcast customers just fine, just not to comcast

I have to say that the tier 1 person I talked to was fairly clueful
regarding possible issues delivering to comcast customers, but she
didn't have any knowledge about the employee domain.

If postmaster at cable.comcast.com sees this, please give me a call:
435.636.0069.  I'd like to get this resolved ASAP.


On Fri, Aug 3, 2012 at 2:19 PM, Elliot Finley <efinley.lists at gmail.com> wrote:
> When I try to us the automated form to unblock my server's IP I get:
> *******
> We have received your request for removal from our inbound blocklist.
> After investigating the issue, we have found that the IP you provided
> for removal is currently not on our blocklist.
> We need the IP address currently blocked to further investigate this
> issue. The IP address is a number separated by decimals and is located
> in an error code starting with "550" in the returned email from
> Comcast.
> Please verify the IP(s) and resubmit your request to
> http://postmaster.comcast.net
> *******
> and yet I consistently get:
> Remote host said: 554 Transaction Failed Spam Message not queued.
> when trying to send any email from the above mentioned IP.
> Please contact me via efinley at emerytelcom.com (from a non comcast
> address so I can email you back)
> or directly @ 435.636.0069
> Thanks,
> Elliot

More information about the NANOG mailing list