DreamHost Contact?

Stasiniewicz, Adam stasinia at msoe.edu
Mon Dec 31 10:48:16 UTC 2007

In a previous job (circa mid 2004), I had attempted to get materials removed from a DreamHost client (they where hosting it in violation of my, at the time, employer's copyright).  The DreamHost abuse process was completely useless, and we ended up having to take direct action against the website operator to get the content removed.  During this process I did some research into DreamHost and found some very interesting articles.  Here is a more recently published one that highlights what I am getting at http://www.hyscience.com/archives/2007/05/us_based_terror.php (I should note, the site is still up and still hosted by DreamHost).  

I am 99.9% sure that after successfully hosting websites for Al-Qaeda for over 3 years (on US based servers, by US citizens, living in the US) they are not going to care much about some SSH port scan.

My $0.02,
Adam Stasiniewicz

-----Original Message-----
From: owner-nanog at merit.edu [mailto:owner-nanog at merit.edu] On Behalf Of Michael Greb
Sent: Sunday, December 30, 2007 8:42 PM
To: nanog at merit.edu
Subject: DreamHost Contact?

Hash: SHA1

I've attempted to contact DreamHost NOC or Abuse departments via the
numbers in whois but just get voice mail and no call back.

I've got a user sending a lot of UDP traffic to port 22.
 This traffic is very likely undesirable and I'd be willing to pull the
plug immediately if I can get confirmation from DreamHost.  Failing that
I've opened an abuse ticket with the customer and given them 12 hours to

- --
Michael Greb
Linode.com, LLC
Version: GnuPG v1.4.7 (Darwin)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org


More information about the NANOG mailing list