Purchased IPv4 Woes

Pete Baldwin pete at tccmail.ca
Sun Mar 12 01:08:01 UTC 2017

Looks like it was taken off the list in Sept 2016.  I suppose this could 
be the reason why our block is still listed in various networks, even 
though it's not on a known 'official' list.

Thanks for the tip Mike.


Pete Baldwin
Tuckersmith Communications
(P) 519-565-2400
(C) 519-441-7383

On 03/11/2017 01:53 AM, Mike Hale wrote:
> It looks like Spamhaus has your entire /16.
> https://stat.ripe.net/
> On Fri, Mar 10, 2017 at 10:01 PM, Laurent Dumont
> <admin at coldnorthadmin.com> wrote:
>> Out of curiosity, who were the previous owner(s), it seems that ARIN only
>> shows the current owner with any history? If it was a Chinese/Russian block,
>> you might be out of luck.
>> On 03/10/2017 12:00 PM, Pete Baldwin wrote:
>>> Hi All,
>>>      Hopefully this is not taken in bad taste.   Our organization purchased
>>> some IP space last year ( to be specific), and it appears
>>> that this block must have been used for less-than-admirable purposes in the
>>> past.
>>> We have been trying to clean up the reputation where possible, and we do
>>> not appear to be on any blacklists, but we do appear to be blocked from a
>>> lot of networks across the US/Canada.    I am noticing a lot of name servers
>>> blocking our requests, many web servers, gaming servers, mail etc.
>>> This is a transition block for us to move towards v6 everywhere, but we
>>> have many systems that will need to rely on this block of space for some
>>> time to come.
>>> We are a small rural co-op ISP in Ontario, and I am just writing this
>>> email as an extra plea so that if you happen to run a network that has this
>>> entire range on your naughty list, we would appreciate you giving it another
>>> chance.  I can be contacted on or off list, thanks.

More information about the NANOG mailing list