Ethernet OAM BCPs Please are there any yet???

Jonathon Exley Jonathon.Exley at
Wed Sep 26 16:34:08 UTC 2012

The ITU recommend the following levels:

5,6,7 = Customer
3,4  = Provider
1,2  = Operator
0    = Local segment

I don't know if there are any rules of thumb for the CCM interval - faster is more sensitive & unstable, slow is sluggish but stable. The spec allows between 3.33 ms and 10 minutes in 7 steps, with 1s being the midpoint. So we use 1s intervals.

I'm not sure if the other parameters you mention are configurable for CCM. I think the packet has a constant size. Are you wanting to also do Y.1731 performance management?


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Adam Vitkovsky [mailto:adam.vitkovsky at]
> Sent: Wednesday, 26 September 2012 9:29 p.m.
> To: nanog at
> Subject: Ethernet OAM BCPs Please are there any yet???
> Hi
> Are there any best common practices for the CFM levels use Since my pure
> Ethernet aggregation layers are small I believe I only need two CFM levels I
> plan on using Level 5 between CPEs managed by us and Level 4 between
> Aggregation devices -that's where MPLS PWs kicks in So leaving Level 7 and
> Level 6 for customers and carrier-customers respectfully -would this be
> enough please?
> I'm also interested on what's the rule of thumb for CCMs Frequency,
> Number of Packets, Interpacket Interval, Packet Size and Lifetime for the
> particular operation Thanks a lot for any inputs

This email and attachments: are confidential; may be protected by privilege and copyright; if received in error may not be used, copied, or kept; are not guaranteed to be virus-free; may not express the views of Kordia(R); do not designate an information system; and do not give rise to any liability for Kordia(R).

More information about the NANOG mailing list