ICANN approves .XXX red-light district for the Internet

Valdis.Kletnieks at vt.edu Valdis.Kletnieks at vt.edu
Tue Mar 29 11:19:39 CDT 2011

On Tue, 29 Mar 2011 16:25:35 BST, Tony Finch said:
> George Bonser <gbonser at seven.com> wrote:
> >
> > What bothers me is that most companies are now going to be forced to
> > purchase .xxx domains simply to keep someone else from buying it and
> > sullying the company's image.
> Who is forcing them?

Do a 'whois ibm.biz', 'ibm.info', 'ibm.org', or 'ibm.us' ('ibm.net' appears to
be slightly different) and ask yourself why those registrations exist.

The only reason they exist is so that IBM can stick this in the DNS:

ibm.info.               86400   IN      TXT     "Visit www.ibm.com for information about IBM products and services"
ibm.info.               86400   IN      TXT     "v=spf1 mx/24 -all"
ibm.info.               86400   IN      MX      100 ns.watson.ibm.com.
ibm.info.               86400   IN      SOA     ns.watson.ibm.com. dnsadm.us.ibm.com. 2010073000 21600 3600 1209600 86400
ibm.info.               86400   IN      A
ibm.info.               86400   IN      NS      ns.watson.ibm.com.
ibm.info.               86400   IN      NS      ns.almaden.ibm.com. 28800 IN      PTR     redirect.www.ibm.com.

So some miscreant can't register 'ibm.biz' for themselves for lulz and profit.

You don't think miscreants would do that?  Might want to look into the checkered
past of 'whitehouse.com' sometime.

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 227 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://mailman.nanog.org/pipermail/nanog/attachments/20110329/73470607/attachment.bin>

More information about the NANOG mailing list