HIJACKED: -- WTF? Level3 is now doing IP hijacking??

Jason Pope boards1_88 at yahoo.com
Tue Apr 5 15:54:29 UTC 2011


WRT the below route object, DataBank does announce IP space for Hoechst Celanese 
Corporation as they are a direct customer of ours:

> $ whois -h whois.radb.net
> route:
> descr:        /16 for Celanese
> origin:        AS13767
> mnt-by:        DBANK-MNT
> changed:      jpope at databank.com 20090818
> source:        LEVEL3

Currently, we only announce/originate the following prefixes via BGP:

via our providers, Level3 and Sprint.  We asked our providers to relax their 
filters for the whole /16, since Celanese owns that IP space.  That may or may 
not be a good idea, depending on your view of network management.  We did this 
in case our customer needed to announce new networks which would save us the 
time/work of placing more/new route objects in the registry.  We have the 
appropriate LOA for this network which is validated through face-to-face 
meetings with their network engineers and representatives.

DataBank is very sensitive to network abuse; we have an AUP in place with all of 
our customers and will always work hard to enforce it to prevent network abuse.

I apologize that I didn't respond sooner, but I have gotten behind on my NANOG 

Thank you,
Jason Pope
DataBank Holdings
214.720.2266 office

More information about the NANOG mailing list