What must one do to avoid Gmail's retarded non-spam filtering?

Joe Sniderman joseph.sniderman at thoroquel.org
Wed Sep 29 19:29:10 UTC 2010

On 09/29/2010 12:05 AM, Erik L wrote:
> Google appears to have blacklisted our domain. From the edge MTA, I
> sent three messages, differing only in the From header: 1. valid
> email @klssys.com 2. valid email @caneris.com 3. abc123 at caneris.com
> 1 not spam; 2 & 3 spam

Ok, so its the domain not the IP.

You're a DSL provider, right?  IP's assigned to customers have PTR's in
caneris.com, right?


> ----- Original Message ----- From: "Erik L" <erik_list at caneris.com> 
> To: "William Pitcock" <nenolod at systeminplace.net> Cc:
> nanog at nanog.org Sent: Tuesday, September 28, 2010 7:17:45 PM Subject:
> Re: What must one do to avoid Gmail's retarded non-spam filtering?
> Hi William,
> I do so for our entire IP space on a regular basis. The edge MTA I 
> mentioned in the reply to Bill shows up as "Neutral" there.

Ok, but there are a couple customer IP's that show up as "Poor" there,
with rDNS in caneris.com not in klssys.com.

One of those is on CBL (and XBL) and PSBL, and is spamming using your

Its not PBL listed even though its a dynamic IP it seems:

That would be an SPF pass as well, because of:
caneris.com.		3600	IN	TXT	"v=spf1 a mx ptr -all"

So, from the receiving end it could easily look like its one of
caneris.com's outbound servers..  But not one of klssys.com's servers.

Maybe this has something to do with the problem.


Joe Sniderman

More information about the NANOG mailing list