IPv4 squatters on the move again?

todd glassey tglassey at earthlink.net
Tue Sep 7 17:28:11 UTC 2010

On 9/7/2010 1:24 AM, Tero Toikkanen wrote:
> Anyone hear of the SundownGroup?

yes it is the fictional name - it pertains to a covert operations group
from a Tommy Lee Scott & Gene Hackman movie called "The Package". As I
recall "Operation Sundown" was the op name and it was a bunch of
assassins but there were a number of instances used.

In this instance the SundownGroup (or Sundowner Group) was a specialized
Army strikeforce who was about to assassinate the Russian Prime Minister
or somesuch.


> On Thursday we received an interesting RFQ from them and suspect their intentions for requesting an IP assignment isn't exactly what they state. We have already turned them down, but thought others might be interested in their activities as well. RIPE NCC has also been notified of this.
> In brief they wanted to buy colo form us: "P4 single core @ 2 Ghz, 1 GB RAM, 60 GB HD, Linux CentOS 5x.x, 10 Mbps bandwidth. A single /21 or /20 net block of IP Adresses"
> Their reason for requesting such a large address block was "As we are currently launching our WholesaleVOIP operation we are in desperate need of this IP space as part of our ARIN process we will need these ranges SWIPd to us and we will in turn renumber with ARIN and return the netblocks to you as soon as ours are allocated and routed."
> Interesting tidbits about the company we and the networking community have already found out:
> Compare http://sundowngroup.com/ and http://www.edgecast.com/ (Edgecast has been notified).
> The contact address is the same as National University Nevada (nu.edu):
> Sundown Capital Management LLC
> 2850 Horizon Ridge Parkway
> Henderson, Nevada 89052
> United States of America
> They also have virtually no Internet presence (http://www.google.com/search?q=%22Sundown+Capital+Management%22)
> The first result shows them as a franchicing company with contact address in California: http://www.scribd.com/doc/14385124/QFA-Unit-Final-PDF-File-of-32709-FDD-With-Exhibits
> I'd say this case is pretty obvious...
> With Kind Regards,
> --
> Tero Toikkanen
> Nebula Oy Internet Services
> No virus found in this incoming message.
> Checked by AVG - www.avg.com 
> Version: 9.0.851 / Virus Database: 271.1.1/3118 - Release Date: 09/06/10 11:34:00


This message may contain confidential and/or privileged information.
If you are not the addressee or authorized to receive this for the
addressee, you must not use, copy, disclose or take any action based
on this message or any information herein. If you have received this
message in error, please advise the sender immediately by reply e-mail
and delete this message.

Thank you for your cooperation.

More information about the NANOG mailing list