Fire, Power loss at Fisher Plaza in Seattle

Sean Donelan sean at
Fri Jul 3 19:22:14 UTC 2009

On Fri, 3 Jul 2009, William Herrin wrote:
> There is a useful standard: ANSI/TIA-942. It offers specifications for
> four tiers of data centers ranging from tier 1 (a basic data center
> with no redundancy) to tier 4 (fully fault tolerant).

Are you better off with a single "tier 4" data center, multiple
"tier 1" data centers, or something in between?

Distance and quantity versus complexity and scaling versus cost and risk. 
Sometimes no matter what you choose, you might be wrong.

Earth is a single point of failure, where is your backup site?

More information about the NANOG mailing list