Call for Volunteers for Mailing List Administration Panel

Joe Abley jabley at
Fri Oct 13 19:21:28 UTC 2006

The NANOG charter, as amended by the community as part of the voting  
process in St Louis, requires the reappointment of members of the  
Mailing List Administration Panel at the autumn meeting.  
Correspondingly, there are now openings on the panel.

According to the charter:

     "... The NANOG list will be administered and minimally
     moderated by a panel selected by the Steering Committee."

Accordingly, the Steering Committee is soliciting nominations for the  
Mailing List Admininistration Panel, from now through 1700 UTC,  
Thursday 19 October 2006.

** Procedure **

To volunteer yourself or nominate someone else, please send mail to  
steering at with the following information, no later than 1700  
UTC, Thursday 19 October 2006.

   - Your name
   - Nominee's name (if not you)
   - Nominee's email address
   - Nominee's phone number
   - Nominee's employer
   - Reasons why you believe the nominee is qualified to serve
     on the Mail List Panel.

We will contact each of the nominees to verify interest and possibly  
request additional information.

Once all nominations have been received, the Steering Committee, in  
cooperation with the Mailing List Admin Panel, will select the Panel.  
The result will be announced on the nanog-announce mailing list.

** Eligibility **

A nominee may not be a member of the NANOG Program Committee or of  
the NANOG Steering Committee. Anybody else actively reading the  
nanog at mailing list is eligible.

** Duties **

Basic duties include reading the mailing list and assisting with  
keeping things on-topic. The team also deals with abuse issues as  
they arise.

** Length of term **

The current NANOG charter specifies term lengths of two years.

If you have any questions, please post to nanog-futures at, or  
email nanog-admin at and steering at

Finally, on behalf of the Mailing List Panel and the Steering  
Committee, we would like to thank everyone for their help in making  
NANOG a useful environment for operators.

Joe Abley, SC chair
Chris Malayter, MLC chair

More information about the NANOG mailing list