[Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]

Frank Bulk frnkblk at iname.com
Fri Oct 6 04:37:19 UTC 2006

GoDaddy's abuse desk is not so easy to work with...I have had two different
times that a whole /24 was blocked even though parts of the address space
were split between different providers (and customers), but GoDaddy would
hardly relent.  Took over a week to get that resolved.


-----Original Message-----
From: owner-nanog at merit.edu [mailto:owner-nanog at merit.edu] On Behalf Of
Steve Sobol
Sent: Thursday, October 05, 2006 10:05 AM
To: Alexander Harrowell
Cc: Joe Abley; Chris Stone; nanog at nanog.org
Subject: Re: [Fwd: Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)]

On Thu, 5 Oct 2006, Alexander Harrowell wrote:

> Are you sure it's genuine? Those WWD domains (especially
> secureserver.net) account for a large fraction of the spam and
> phishing attempts I receive.

SecureServer.net is GoDaddy.

If you have domains hosted at GoDaddy or a reseller, your customer 
notifications come from that domain.

They also do web and email hosting, which is probably why you're seeing 
the abusive behavior, but they do have a working abuse desk, so if you see 
stuff from there, definitely report it.

Steve Sobol, Professional Geek ** Java/VB/VC/PHP/Perl ** Linux/*BSD/Windows
Apple Valley, California     PGP:0xE3AE35ED

It's all fun and games until someone starts a bonfire in the living room.

More information about the NANOG mailing list