Jim Popovitch jimpop at yahoo.com
Wed Jul 12 22:24:08 UTC 2006

It appears that some of the queries are valid for an older site that 
existed in the past. That site was a wiki and some of the Giga hits are 
for internationalized versions of the default help/support pages.  This 
is fine and acceptable behavior by them (IMHO).  The fact that they are 
querying something that no longer exist is something I can deal with. 
The strangeness is that some of their crawling is looking for URLs with 
multiple exclamation points, those URLs never existed. This may be 
indicative of a character translation on my system or theirs.  BUT, the 
net net is that I no longer feel a need to be concerned about them.

Thanks all,

-Jim P.

Jim Popovitch wrote:
> Feel free to clue me in on this please... ;-)
> What is www.gigablast.com?   And why is it constantly performing 
> "questionable" queries (mostly http) across every IP that I have access 
> to check.
> I get a could of thousand hits (mostly questionable non-existing URL 
> requests) from that ip (  Anyone else seeing/questioning 
> this?
> Completewhois shows some listings in some RBLs, but not the more popular 
> ones.
> -Jim P.

More information about the NANOG mailing list