Jim Popovitch jimpop at yahoo.com
Wed Jul 12 21:50:47 UTC 2006

:-) Let me add something before everyone on NANOG reminds me that 
gigablast is a search engine..... I know what they do, but what I don't 
understand is why are they searching my systems for URLs that haven't 
ever existed there before.  It's as though they are doing random word 
searches in hopes of striking lucky.  They are "crawling" for URLs like 
this:  (unfortunately most people won't see these because their spam 
blockers will block all the exclamation points)


-Jim P.

Jim Popovitch wrote:
> Feel free to clue me in on this please... ;-)
> What is www.gigablast.com?   And why is it constantly performing 
> "questionable" queries (mostly http) across every IP that I have access 
> to check.
> I get a could of thousand hits (mostly questionable non-existing URL 
> requests) from that ip (  Anyone else seeing/questioning 
> this?
> Completewhois shows some listings in some RBLs, but not the more popular 
> ones.
> -Jim P.

More information about the NANOG mailing list