IP Delegations for Forum Spammers and Invalid Whois info

Gadi Evron ge at linuxbox.org
Mon Jul 3 08:07:33 UTC 2006

This is a known problem with known solutions. There are RBL's, bayesian
filters, behaviour filters, and what not.

For a phpbb forum I'd suggest a captcha, although that's extremely

This is becoming the next (last) spamvertising medium and Google poisoning
medium. I and others spend hours on this issue every day. We even have a
mailing list for this.

Good luck,


On Mon, 3 Jul 2006, Mark Foster wrote:

> I assume the ongoing problems that forum administrators have with people 
> randomly signing up to forums - even closed ones requiring admin approval 
> for all accounts - for the purpose of spamming their web urls around the 
> place is an old one.
> I run such a forum and have started implementing /16 level bans to try to 
> slow them down.  Obviously not the best solution.
> The forum in question is phpBB (I know - whos isn't) and i'm yet to have 
> time to actually start digging into whether there are better ways of 
> responding to this issue. (Volume isnt prohibitive - yet.)
> In the most recent case the IP address space that the website concerned 
> points back to is in the Ukraine and the listed abuse contact is on a 
> domain which is canned due to invalid contact details provided.
> My question then is - what happens now?  The IP address space is 
> essentially 'untraceable' except perhaps through 
> bandwidth-supplier-agreements or somesuch.  Shouldn't IP's with similarly 
> invalid contact details be 'suspended' after being given opportunity to 
> provide updated, correct details?
> The IP range in question is - and a snippet 
> of the whois info provided is as follows:
> remarks:      ****************************************
> remarks:      * Abuse contacts: abuse at netcathost.com *
> remarks:      ****************************************
> person:       Vsevolod Stetsinsky
> address:      01110, Ukraine, Kiev, 20Á, Solomenskaya street. room 206.
> phone:        +38 050 6226676
> e-mail:       vs at netcathost.com
> nic-hdl:      VS1142-RIPE
> source:       RIPE # Filtered
> Forgive the relative noobishness of the question, but I've not had to deal 
> with this sort of situation before.  Should I be forwarding to RIPE?

More information about the NANOG mailing list