Warning to ISPs: 9netave

Patrick Greenwell patrick at cybernothing.org
Thu Sep 2 02:52:32 UTC 1999

No doubt I'll get flamed to hell by some folks for this(but this wouldn't
be Nanog without it), however if this character is doing what is described
below you might want to make sure it isn't happening to you and your users
at this very moment, moreso since 9netave, the organization hosting the
site is apparently refusing to take action to stop a clear case of
credit fraud. 

Value Net, http://www.value.net is an ISP located in Walnut Creek,
California, which I have an account with. 

It appears that a scam artist decided to set up
http://www.valuehelp.net, which copies the site design, logos, etc. and
pops up with a javascript alert saying "This is a secure Value Net
server," and has a place to enter account info & credit card. They then
proceeded to send email to Value Net customers telling
them that they needed to go there and re-enter their information,
including credit card info. 

According to information provided to me, 9netave is in no uncertain terms
is refusing to take down the site without a court order.


Patrick Greenwell                          
                 "This is our time. It will not come again."

More information about the NANOG mailing list