Paul Vixie did not spam you (this is an automated response)

Geoff White geoffw at
Thu Mar 6 20:14:27 UTC 1997

On Thu, 6 Mar 1997, Peter Galbavy wrote:

> cc'ed to [email protected] FYI
> Paul Vixie wrote:
> > Today I started receiving a massive number of e-mail bounces and complaints
> > about spam.  I immediately realized that someone had abused the network in my
> > name; sure enough, I shortly received the evidence shown below.  I apologize
> > for this form letter response, but I'm expecting another 10,000 complaints and
> > I do not plan to send personalized replies to each one.
> [Posting from home, since thats where I get [email protected], but posting
> with my work hat on - Reply-To: set to peter at]
> Please note that we were hit by the same spammer. The original
> message went out, claiming it was from one of our customers (another
> thread last week) when in actual fact it is from an address block
> assigned the

We have also been hit by the same spammer, he is using
exchangecurrency at as his reply-field (which is one of my
clients) Apparently one of the people at send a message to
on of the spammers "superiors" (I think he just sent the message to the
NOC contact of the host on a reply field that was sent to him :) and
shortly after that, their domain name was showing up in the reply field of
the spam.  I am flushing all mail heading for
exchangecurrency at to /dev/null.  I've done a little research,
aparently the original postings were using a domain...

precipice:{root}67-> whois
Financial Connections, Inc (MONEYWORLD-DOM)
   2508 5th Ave, #104
   Seattle, WA 98121
   Domain Name: MONEYWORLD.COM
   Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Zone Contact, Billing
      Williams, Bob  (BW747)  willie at MONEYWORLD.COM
      206 269 0846
   Record last updated on 13-Oct-96.
   Record created on 26-Oct-95.
   Domain servers in listed order:

No answer at the number and apparently non of these DNS machines are
currently on the net... hmm.

This guy  is causing my mail queues to fill up with a ton of bounces and
flames and I don't appreciate it one bit.  The guys at forprofit have some
friends at the FBI, but they say that everytime they try to go after these
guys, the ISPs won't co-operate :)

					Geoff White
					Virtual Sites
					(415)437-4600  fax (415)437-4601

More information about the NANOG mailing list