Jake Khuon khuon at Merit.Net
Mon Apr 22 03:47:12 UTC 1996

### On Sun, 21 Apr 1996 18:36:17 -0700 (PDT), Sean Doran
### <smd at> wrote to nanog at Merit.Edu concerning "NAVYJOBS.COM":

SD> and noticed a commercial for U.S. Navy Recruiting.
SD> Why why why why why are they in .COM?!
SD> I think we should be told.

Well, without further checking than this...

#101:<khuon at Espresso>(pts/38)[~]% whois
US Navy Recruiting Command (NAVYJOBS-DOM)
   801 N Randolph  Arlington, VA  22203-1991

   Domain Name: NAVYJOBS.COM

   Administrative Contact:
      Howard, Joe  (JH547)  bbdo at ID1.COM
   Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
      Riordan, John  (JR181)  john at INTERPORT.NET
      212 989-1128

   Record last updated on 16-May-95.
   Record created on 19-Apr-95.

   Domain servers in listed order:


Could it be possible that NAVYJOBS.COM is actually just some business entity
and really isn't directly affiliated with the USN at all?  Maybe they're a
contracted-out recruiting service.

/*===================[ Jake Khuon <khuon at Merit.Net> ]======================+
 | Systems Research Programmer, IE Group       /| /|[~|)|~|~ N E T W O R K |
 | VOX: (313) 763-4907   FAX: (313) 747-3185  / |/ |[_|\| |   Incorporated |
 +==[ Suite C2122, Bldg. 1  4251 Plymouth Rd.  Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2785 ]==*/

More information about the NANOG mailing list